HP announces changes to Board of Directors

The new directors are Shumeet Banerji, chief executive officer of Booz & Company; Gary Reiner, former chief information officer of General Electric Company and a current special advisor to private equity firm General Atlantic; Patricia Russo, former chief executive officer of Alcatel-Lucent; Dominique Senequier, chief executive officer of AXA Private Equity; and Meg Whitman, former president and chief executive officer of eBay Inc. The five new directors also will stand for re-election at HP’s next Annual Meeting of Stockholders in March.

In addition, HP announced that incumbent directors Joel Hyatt, John Joyce, Robert Ryan and Lucille Salhany are not standing for re-election at the company’s Annual Meeting of Stockholders.

Shumeet Banerji, 51, is chief executive officer of Booz & Company, a global management consulting firm. Most recently, he has focused on counseling government ministries and financial services institutions on the impact of changing demographics around the globe. Banerji joined Booz Allen Hamilton in 1993 and has served clients in both the public and private sector. Earlier in his career, he was a member of the faculty at the University of Chicago Graduate School of Business.

Banerji, who is based in London, earned a Ph.D. from the Kellogg Graduate School of Management at Northwestern University and a B.A. and MBA from Delhi University.

Gary Reiner, 56, serves as a special advisor to private equity firm General Atlantic, providing strategic counsel to the firm and the companies it partners with worldwide. During his career at GE, he served as senior vice president and chief information officer, head of GE Information Services, and as vice president, Corporate Business Development. Reiner’s responsibilities included overseeing IT, operations, sourcing, mergers and acquisitions and quality for the company’s global operations, including GE’s renowned Six Sigma quality initiative. Earlier in his career, Reiner was a partner at Boston Consulting Group, where he focused on strategic and process issues for high-technology businesses.Reiner earned a B.A. in economics from Harvard and an MBA from Harvard Business School.

Patricia Russo, 58, is the former chief executive officer of Alcatel-Lucent, a global communication solutions provider. She also previously served as chairman and CEO of Lucent Technologies, president of Eastman Kodak and chairman of Avaya, which was spun off from Lucent. Earlier in her career, she held management positions at AT&T and IBM. Currently, Russo serves on the board of directors of General Motors, Merck & Co. and ALCOA, Inc.

Russo earned a B.A. in history from Georgetown University and completed Harvard Business School’s Advanced Management Program.

Dominique Senequier, 57, is chief executive officer of AXA Private Equity. She joined AXA Investment Managers in 1996 and founded the subsidiary AXA Private Equity that same year. Senequier is a member of the Institut des Actuaries Français (French Actuarial Institute) and a non-voting member of the supervisory board of Schneider Electric SA. Prior to joining AXA Investment Managers, she created and developed the subsidiary "GAN Participations" at GAN, an insurance firm. Senequier is a graduate of École Polytechnique and holds a DEA (post-graduate degree) in banking and monetary economics from the University of Sorbonne, Paris.

Meg Whitman, 54, is best known for her 10-year tenure as president and CEO of eBay Inc., a global ecommerce and payments company. She ran the company from 1998 to 2008. Prior to working for eBay, she held management positions at Bain & Company, the Stride Rite Corporation, the Walt Disney Company, Procter & Gamble Co., FTD and Hasbro. She also is a former board member of the eBay Foundation, Procter & Gamble and DreamWorks SKG, having resigned in 2009 in preparation for her California gubernatorial bid. Whitman became the third woman in a 20-year period to run for the office and won the Republican primary in 2010. Whitman was born on Long Island, N.Y. She earned her bachelor’s degree in economics from Princeton University in 1977. She received an MBA from Harvard Business School in 1979.

The board plans to nominate the following current directors to stand for re-election at the Annual Meeting of Stockholders: Raymond J. Lane, Non-executive Chairman of the HP board and Managing Partner of Kleiner Perkins Caufield & Byers, Marc L. Andreessen, Co-founder and a general partner of Andreessen Horowitz, Léo Apotheker, HP President and Chief Executive Officer, Lawrence T. Babbio, Jr. Senior Advisor to Warburg Pincus and former Vice Chairman and President of Verizon Communications, Sari M. Baldauf. Former Executive Vice President and General Manager of the Networks business group of Nokia Corporation, Rajiv L. Gupta, Senior Advisor to New Mountain Capital, LLC, and former Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Rohm and Haas, John H. Hammergren, President, Chairman and CEO of McKesson Corporation, G. Kennedy Thompson, Executive Advisor to Aquiline Capital Partners LLC and former President and Chief Executive Officer of Wachovia Corporation.